Posted by: Dr. Dave Eng, EdD | November 28, 2011

Cabin 4133

Current Coordinates:  17 46.42 N 120 41.61 W

15’ x 7’

I know.  It doesn’t sound like a whole lot of space – but it marks the boundaries of my only sanctuary.  The only place that I can call my home.

After living in an NYC apartment at least I can say this space is better furnished and (for the most part) isn’t surrounded by screaming neighbors.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My cabin is the only private place I can go to relax – the only place that I can really call mine.

Most of the time it is a bedroom – a place to recharge after a long day.  Other times it is a study – a place to reflect and write.  Yet more often than not it is an office – one of the only places where I can get work done: in peace and solitude from the community just outside my door.

Sometimes it is the place where I feel my best – a place where I can honestly get stuff done – both personally and professionally.

Because at the end of the day there is no commuting home.   No convenient buffer zone between the office and the apartment.  Just a trip down to deck four and cabin 4133.

4133 IS my home.

Home to a full sized bed – really just two twin beds disguised through creative use of sheets and a comforter.

Home to a stocked “pantry” – mostly just junk food: sometimes the only comfort for the roughest days at sea.

Home to a hot shower – a simple but oh so necessary amenity.

Home to a closet of clothes – producing a comically finite combination of clean wardrobes.

For our days at sea: cabin 4133 is the home for me.

My only private space.  The room that I call my own.

TL;DR 15 feet by 7 feet are the dimensions of my cabin; not very big but the only private space to myself; serves as a bedroom, study, and office; sometimes the only place where I can get stuff done; home to a big bed, pantry, hot shower, and clean clothes; cabin 4133 is the home for me


Responses

  1. I’ve seen your room at home… This is TWICE the size! EASY! Living like a King… Who needs NJ!

    • I think that the view outside my porthole is infinitely nicer.


Leave a comment

Categories